inaudible

2016 Swiss Dance Award 2017

Dans cette pièce de groupe créée pour six danseurs, Thomas Hauert se concentre sur la notion de l’interprétation. Déconstruisant les codes et les niveaux culturels, inaudible propose un jeu entre culture savante et art populaire, entre séduction directe et déception des attentes qui donne une accessibilité au langage du chorégraphe et la rend imprévisible en même temps.

GERSHWIN Faisant suite aux expérimentations en studio dans le cadre de la création de son solo (sweet) (bitter), où différentes interprétations du madrigal Si Dolce è’l Tormento de Monteverdi ont été mises en conversation avec la danse et des extraits des 12 Madrigali de Salvatore Sciarrino, pour inaudible le chorégraphe a choisi de travailler avec la partition du Piano Concerto en fa (Piano Concerto in F) écrite par le compositeur américain George Gershwin en 1925. L’œuvre de Gershwin tient une position singulière dans l’histoire de la musique. S’opposant aux courants modernistes et puristes, il assumait ingénieusement la fusion de différents mondes musicaux – Broadway, Music Hall, Jazz, Kletzmer et Musique Classique. Souvent snobé par les gardiens des hiérarchies de la haute culture euro-centrique, Gershwin ignorait les tabous et heurtait avec insolence les lois du bon goût imposées par les autorités de l’establishment culturel.

Le Concerto en fa est une œuvre musicalement passionnante: en même temps familière et surprenante, la richesse de la partition transmet une énergie contagieuse. Elle dégage un optimisme rayonnant, elle est un monde sonore lumineux, une sorte d’utopie. C’est une musique qui génère le mouvement et qui entre dans les corps, c’est une musique très dansante, une musique qui “fait bouger”. Ce phénomène physique intéresse beaucoup Thomas Hauert : la physicalité de la musique-même qui envahit notre corps. La musique de Gerswhin peut être écoutée à un niveau purement abstrait, éloignée de toutes les références et associations narratives qui sont rattachées aux sonorités gershwiniennes, dû entre autres au cinéma hollywoodien qui les a utilisées dans d’innombrables bandes sonores. Gershwin lui-même souhaitait que l’auditeur perçoive ce concerto comme une musique abstraite. Il changea pendant la création de son oeuvre le titre original de New York Concerto en Concerto en fa pour éviter la suggestion d’un programme à l’écoute. La matière musicale abstraite offre une abondance de rythmes, mélodies, harmoniques, contrepoints, phrases etc. qui peuvent générer des impulsions chorégraphiques. Elle permet/provoque/exige une grande liberté formelle au niveau du vocabulaire corporel et des interactions au sein du groupe.

LANZA En résonnance au Concerto en fa, le chorégraphe a choisi de travailler avec une œuvre du compositeur contemporain Mauro Lanza, Ludus de Morte Regis. Pièce pour 28 chanteurs, jouets et électronique, elle vient converser avec la musique de Gershwin. La musique contemporaine entretient rarement un rapport direct avec le corps mais la musique de Mauro Lanza en représente une exception. Erudite et sensuelle, d’une profondeur vertigineuse et pleine d’humour, elle réussit le grand écart entre plusieurs antagonistes.

MICKEYMOUSING Dans le monde du cinéma, on utilise le terme « mickeymousing » pour décrire une musique de film qui souligne chaque mouvement physique de l’action. En danse, on utilise aussi ce terme, mais pour décrire la pratique inverse d’un mouvement suivant directement la musique. Cette dénomination, un peu péjorative, est un hommage au style musical des dessins animés de Mickey Mouse et autres, un style musical né de l’apport de compositeurs tels que George Gershwin dans les années 1920, 1930 lors de l’arrivée du cinéma parlant. Le chorégraphe explore le phénomène dans inaudible. Si la pratique charrie une image plutôt péjorative dans le monde de la danse contemporaine, elle crée aussi la fascination du grand public pour les danses populaires – hip-hop par exemple – qui se multiplient sur YouTube ou dans les shows télévisés. Chorégraphiées et coordonnées avec la musique dans ses moindres détails, ces danses perpétuent une tradition chorégraphique toujours présente au sein de cultures populaires basées sur la perception de l’unité intrinsèque entre la danse et la musique.

Dans inaudible, une grande partie du mouvement proposé est improvisée à partir d’un ensemble de partitions de mouvement rigoureusement définies et souvent superposées. Les danseurs ont profondément intégré la composition musicale. Ils la connaissent par cœur dans toute sa complexité : les lignes mélodiques et rythmiques individuelles de chacun de ses instruments jusqu’aux intéractions des groupes d’instruments ou de solistes ainsi que l’alchimie sonore que produit l’ensemble de l’orchestre. L’incorporation et l’interprétation de tous les évènements d’un orchestre symphonique par un seul corps est l’une des idées centrales qui se retrouvent dans cette création.

La musique est le moteur de la danse. En jouant sur le temps, l’espace, les corps et les forces, les danseurs partent à la recherche des façons créatives, sophistiquées et surprenantes de recevoir la musique directement dans le corps. Gardant cette puissance de reconnaissance immédiate du mickeymousing, ils détournent les attentes du spectateur avec leur inventivité corporelle qui, en improvisant, réunit intuition et conscience. Les structures chorégraphiques apparaissent en dansant, en jouant. Et, en reconnaissant les potentiels des évènements, les danseurs peuvent renforcer ou transformer ces structures constamment. La danse même n’est pas fixée à l’avance, on ne recrée pas une forme préexistante mais les danseurs négocient sans cesse leurs trajectoires et coordinations par rapport à la musique et aux autres danseurs, selon un ensemble de paramètres connus et pratiqués. Un peu comme dans un match de football : le jeu se passe selon certaines règles mais les trajectoires, les évènements, les intéractions sont à chaque fois différentes.

Il y a aussi dans inaudible un détournement d’autorité, de hiérarchie : la chorégraphie est issue d’un effort créatif commun. Elle intègre le potentiel créatif – conscient et intuitif – de chaque danseur/se ainsi que leur situation sur scène, leur perspective subjective sur les évènements dans l’instant. Leur interprétation de la situation et leur intuition réactive sont liées à leur expérience subjective individuelle, à leur histoire personnelle. En même temps, ils agissent dans une intention de créer des liens avec les autres, avec la musique, dans l’espace et le temps. Ils peuvent agir et réagir en consonance avec la réalité telle qu’elle se présente, plutôt que de suivre un plan prémédité. En découlent une complexité et une fluidité impossibles à concevoir préalablement ainsi qu’une présence et une concentration particulières.

Concept & direction Thomas Hauert
Créé & interprété par Thomas Hauert, Fabian Barba, Liz Kinoshita, Albert Quesada, Gabriel Schenker, Mat Voorter
Musique George Gerswhin Piano Concerto in F, Mauro Lanza Ludus de Morte Regis
Collage musical Thomas Hauert
Costumes Chevalier-Masson
Lumière Bert Van Dijck
Son Bart Celis
Collaboration musicale informatique, Ircam Martin Antiphon
Production ZOO/Thomas Hauert
Coproduction Kunstenfestivaldesarts (BE) / Charleroi danse (BE) / PACT Zollverein (DE) / La Bâtie – Festival de Genève (CH) / Centre chorégraphique national de Rillieux-la-Pape – direction Yuval Pick (FR) / Théâtre Sévelin 36 (CH) / CDC Atelier de Paris-Carolyn Carlson (FR) / Ircam – Centre Pompidou (FR)
Support Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles – Service de la danse / Pro Helvetia – Fondation suisse pour les arts / Loterie Nationale / Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie / Ein Kulturengagement des Lotterie-Fonds des Kantons Solothurn / Wallonie-Bruxelles International
Studio Charleroi danse, La Raffinerie (BE) / Grand Studio (BE) / Centre chorégraphique national de Rillieux-la-Pape – direction Yuval Pick (FR)
Remerciement Les Cris de Paris (direction Geoffroy Jourdain), commanditaire et interprète de Ludus de Morte Regis de Mauro Lanza, festival ManiFeste (Ircam – Centre Pompidou), 2013.

- Interview de Thomas Hauert par François Gremaud interview-tanzpreise2017fr.pdf

19 May 2020
Théâtre Paul Eluard Bezons (FR)
5 October 2019
Rote Fabrik Zurich (CH)
4 October 2019
Rote Fabrik Zurich (CH)
14 June 2019
15 March 2019
17 July 2018
16 July 2018
15 July 2018
14 July 2018
13 July 2018
11 July 2018
10 July 2018
9 July 2018
8 July 2018
7 July 2018
22 May 2018
Le Dôme Théâtre Albertville (FR)
5 May 2018
3 May 2018
20 March 2018
Opéra de Rouen Rouen (FR)
13 March 2018
Pôle Sud Strasbourg (FR)
10 March 2018
Mercat de les Flors Barcelona (ES)
9 March 2018
Mercat de les Flors Barcelona (ES)
8 March 2018
Mercat de les Flors Barcelona (ES)
25 November 2017
Théâtre de Lorient Lorient (FR)
24 November 2017
Théâtre de Lorient Lorient (FR)
23 November 2017
Théâtre de Lorient Lorient (FR)
17 November 2017
Tanz in Olten Olten (CH)
15 November 2017
Le Grand T Nantes (FR)
14 November 2017
Le Grand T Nantes (FR)
6 August 2017
4 June 2017
3 June 2017
30 May 2017
Rencontres Chorégraphiques Seine-Saint-Denis (FR)
20 May 2017
Mars Mons (BE)
18 May 2017
Centre Pompidou Paris (FR)
17 May 2017
Centre Pompidou Paris (FR)
6 May 2017
Festival Hiver de Danses Neuchâtel (CH)
9 February 2017
8 February 2017
3 February 2017
Swiss Dance Days Geneva (CH)
2 February 2017
Swiss Dance Days Geneva (CH)
9 December 2016
Charleroi Danses Charleroi (BE)
8 December 2016
Charleroi Danses Charleroi (BE)
8 September 2016
7 September 2016
25 June 2016
4 June 2016
3 June 2016
1 June 2016
31 May 2016
28 May 2016
Kunstenfestivaldesarts Brussels (BE)
27 May 2016
Kunstenfestivaldesarts Brussels (BE)
26 May 2016
Kunstenfestivaldesarts Brussels (BE)
25 May 2016
Kunstenfestivaldesarts Brussels (BE)
19 March 2016
24 February 2016
CCNR de Rillieux-la-Pape - Preview Rillieux-la-Pape (FR)

inaudible

Swiss Dance Award 2017

inaudible

2016

In this new group piece for six dancers, Thomas Hauert focuses on the notion of “interpretation”. By deconstructing codes and cultural layers, inaudible offers a game between highbrow art and popular culture, between direct seduction and deceiving expectations that makes the choreographer’s language accessible yet unpredictable.

GERSHWIN After experimenting in the studio during the creation of his solo (sweet) (bitter), in which different interpretations of Monteverdi’s madrigal Si Dolce è’l Tormento entered into dialogue with the dance and excerpts from Salvatore Sciarrino’s 12 Madrigali, for inaudible Thomas has chosen to work with the score of Concerto in F written by the American composer George Gershwin in 1925. Gershwin’s work occupies a singular position in the history of music. In conflict with modernist and purist trends, he ingeniously undertook the fusion of different musical worlds – Broadway, music hall, jazz, Klezmer and classical. Often snubbed by the guardians of the hierarchies of Eurocentric high culture, Gershwin cared little about taboos and insolently went against the laws of good taste imposed by the cultural establishment.

Concerto in F is a fascinating work musically: both familiar and surprising, the richness of the score conveys a contagious energy. It unleashes a radiating optimism; it is a luminous world of sound, a sort of utopia. It is a music that generates movement and enters into the listener’s body; it is a very dancy music, a music that “makes you move”. This physical phenomenon interests Thomas Hauert: the physicality of the music itself that invades our bodies. Gershwin’s music can be heard on a purely abstract level, removed from all references and narrative associations that are attached to the Gershwinian sound, due among other things to Hollywood’s use of it in countless soundtracks. Gershwin himself wanted the listener to perceive of this concerto as abstract music. As he was creating the work, he changed its original title from New York Concerto to Concerto in F to avoid the suggestion of a narrative. The abstract musical material offers an abundance of rhythms, melodies, harmonies, counterpoints, phrases etc. that can generate choreographic impetus. It allows/causes/demands huge formal freedom in terms of the body’s vocabulary and interactions within the group.

LANZA In resonance with Concerto in F, the choreographer has opted to work with a piece by the contemporary composer Mauro Lanza: Ludus de Morte Regis commissioned and performed by Les Cris de Paris (direction Geoffroy Jourdain). A composition for 28 singers, toys and electronics, it enters into a dialogue with Gershwin’s music. Contemporary music rarely has an immediate relationship with the body, but Mauro Lanza’s music is an exception: erudite and sensual at the same time, of dazzling depth and full of humour, it bridges the gap between several antagonists.

MICKEYMOUSING In the film world, the term “Mickey-Mousing” is used to describe film music that emphasises each physical movement in the action. We also use this term in dance, but to describe the opposite practice of movement following the music directly. This slightly derogatory term for it pays homage to the musical style of the cartoons of Mickey Mouse and others, a musical style born from the contribution of composers such as George Gershwin in the 1920s and 1930s with the advent of the talkies. The choreographer explores this phenomenon in inaudible. While the practice carries a rather pejorative image in the world of contemporary dance, it also creates public fascination for popular dances – hip-hop for example – which can be seen in the many posts on YouTube or on TV shows. Choreographed and coordinated with the music down to the tiniest detail, these dances perpetuate a choreographic tradition still found in popular culture based on the perception of the intrinsic unity between dance and music.

In inaudible, a large part of the movement proposed is improvised using a set of rigorously defined and often superimposed movement scores. The dancers have thoroughly absorbed the musical composition. They know it by heart in all its complexity: the individual melodic and rhythmic lines of each of its instruments all the way to the interactions of groups of instruments or soloists, as well as the alchemy of sound produced by the full orchestra. The incorporation and interpretation of all the events in a symphony orchestra by a single body is one of the central ideas that can be found in this creation.

Music is the driver of the dance here. By playing with time, space, forces and the bodies, the dancers launch themselves in search of creative, sophisticated and surprising ways to receive the music directly into their body. Keeping the power of immediate recognition from Mickey-Mousing, they redirect the audience’s expectations with their physical inventiveness, which unites intuition and consciousness through improvisation. The choreographic structures appear in dancing and in playing. Recognising the potential of events, the dancers can continually reinforce or transform these structures. The dance itself is not fixed in advance; no pre-existing form is being recreated. However the dancers continuously negotiate their trajectories and co-ordinations in relation to the music and the other dancers, according to a set of known and practised parameters. A little like in a football match, the game takes place according to certain rules but the trajectories, the events, the interactions are different with each game.

Also in inaudible one can detect a permutation of authority, of hierarchy: the choreography comes to existence through a joint creative effort. It integrates the creative potential – conscious and intuitive – of each dancer as well as their situation on stage, their subjective perspective on events as they happen. Their interpretation of the situation and their reactive intuition are linked to their individual subjective experience, to their personal story. At the same time, they act in an intention to create links with the others, with the music, in the space and time. They can act and react in consonance with the reality such as it is in the present, rather than following a premeditated plan. Resulting from this are a complexity and fluidity that are impossible to conceive of in advance, as well as a very particular presence and concentration.

Concept & direction Thomas Hauert
Dance created & presented by Thomas Hauert, Fabian Barba, Liz Kinoshita, Albert Quesada, Gabriel Schenker, Mat Voorter
Music George Gerswhin Piano Concerto in F, Mauro Lanza Ludus de Morte Regis
Musical collage Thomas Hauert
Costumes Chevalier-Masson
Light design Bert Van Dijck
Sound Bart Celis
Informatical musical collaboration Ircam Martin Antiphon
Production ZOO/Thomas Hauert
Coproduction Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Brussels / Charleroi Danses, Charleroi-Brussels / PACT Zollverein, Essen (DE) / La Bâtie – Geneva Festival / Centre chorégraphique national de Rillieux-la-Pape – direction Yuval Pick (FR) / Théâtre Sévelin 36, Lausanne (CH) / CDC Atelier de Paris-Carolyn Carlson, Paris (FR) / Ircam – Centre Pompidou, Paris (FR)
With the support of Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles – Service de la danse / Pro Helvetia – Fondation suisse pour les arts / Loterie Nationale / Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie / Ein Kulturengagement des Lotterie-Fonds des Kantons Solothurn / Wallonie-Bruxelles International
Studio Charleroi Danses, La Raffinerie, Bruxelles (BE) / Grand Studio, Bruxelles (BE) / Centre chorégraphique national de Rillieux-la-Pape – direction Yuval Pick (FR)
Thanks Les Cris de Paris (direction Geoffroy Jourdain), who commissioned and performed Ludus de Morte Regis from Mauro Lanza in festival ManiFeste (Ircam – Centre Pompidou), 2013

22 May 2018
Le Dôme Théâtre Albertville (FR)
05 May 2018
03 May 2018
20 March 2018
Opéra de Rouen Rouen (FR)
13 March 2018
Pôle Sud Strasbourg (FR)
10 March 2018
Mercat de les Flors Barcelona (ES)
09 March 2018
Mercat de les Flors Barcelona (ES)
08 March 2018
Mercat de les Flors Barcelona (ES)
25 November 2017
Théâtre de Lorient Lorient (FR)
24 November 2017
Théâtre de Lorient Lorient (FR)
23 November 2017
Théâtre de Lorient Lorient (FR)
17 November 2017
Tanz in Olten Olten (CH)
15 November 2017
Le Grand T Nantes (FR)
14 November 2017
Le Grand T Nantes (FR)
06 August 2017
04 June 2017
03 June 2017
30 May 2017
Rencontres Chorégraphiques Seine-Saint-Denis (FR)
20 May 2017
Mars Mons (BE)
18 May 2017
Centre Pompidou Paris (FR)
17 May 2017
Centre Pompidou Paris (FR)
06 May 2017
Festival Hiver de Danses Neuchâtel (CH)
09 February 2017
08 February 2017
03 February 2017
Swiss Dance Days Geneva (CH)
02 February 2017
Swiss Dance Days Geneva (CH)
09 December 2016
Charleroi Danses Charleroi (BE)
08 December 2016
Charleroi Danses Charleroi (BE)
08 September 2016
07 September 2016
25 June 2016
04 June 2016
03 June 2016
01 June 2016
31 May 2016
28 May 2016
Kunstenfestivaldesarts Brussels (BE)
27 May 2016
Kunstenfestivaldesarts Brussels (BE)
26 May 2016
Kunstenfestivaldesarts Brussels (BE)
25 May 2016
Kunstenfestivaldesarts Brussels (BE)
19 March 2016
24 February 2016
CCNR de Rillieux-la-Pape - Preview Rillieux-la-Pape (FR)

inaudible