If Only

2020

In 2018 ZOO celebrated the company’s twentieth anniversary with How to proceed. In this work, the performers generously offered a glimpse into their creative process. But behind the apparent collective celebration of this event, a certain darkness seemed to have already taken root. A latent anguish made several furtive appearances in this previous creation but became diluted within the project’s seemingly festive spirit. ‘I was wrestling with my personal and professional life, the dance industry, the state of the world I’m living in’, says Thomas Hauert. Affected by the toxic atmosphere triggered by crises of an ecological, economic, migratory and political nature, these concerns continued to infuse the choreographer’s reflections, shifting his research and practice towards other areas of interest. The new creation, If Only, carries in its essence this feeling of disenchantment.

Two years after How to proceed, the choreographer returns with a bold project that gives the company’s work a new direction. Aficionados will no doubt be bewildered by this radically new proposition, which breaks sharply with the characteristic dynamic of the world of ZOO. Thomas Hauert, Liz Kinoshita, Sarah Ludi, Federica Porello, Samantha Van Wissen and Mat Voorter, emblematic figures of the company and partners in previous projects, thus review the rules of their own work. The confidence and liberty that have been constantly reinforced throughout the projects are for that matter one of the company’s trademarks: collective and collaborative work is always at the centre of the creative process. Rearranging ZOO’s DNA could not have been accomplished without the precious and experienced collaboration of this team.

Caught up in a continuous stream of agitation, a need to slow down the pace imposed itself. Having choreographed, in recent years, pieces characterized by overflowing and exhausting energy, it was now time to let go: this new research seeks to explore other forms of presences and materials, pared-down and stripped of the potentially appealing dynamics one might expect from dance. Going against the consumerism and the ubiquitous speed that pervades our lives, the bodies slow down, become limp, hesitant, devoid of the mandate of efficiency … Re-appropriating time, finding new scales of virtuosity and developing a slow dance were among the rudiments which fed into If Only.

The performers share the stage with Thirteen Harmonies, a work by John Cage recorded for this new creation by violinist Wietse Beels and keyboard player Lea Petra on a Fender Rhodes. Thirteen Harmonies is a transcription for violin and keyboard (by Roger Zahab in 1985) of a larger work by John Cage titled Apartment House 1776. Commissioned by several American orchestras for the bicentenary of the independence of the United States in 1976, Apartment House 1776, performed by musicians and singers representing the members of the communities living in the United States more than 200 years ago (Puritan Protestants, Sephardic Jews, Native Americans and African Americans), is based on 44 works by colonial composers. Far from the naive optimism and unshakeable faith (in God, in oneself and in the conquest of the American continent) exuded by the original hymns, which were imbued with liturgical accents, the sound of Thirteen Harmonies becomes both recognizable and strange, haunted by mysterious silences. They evoke a sense of hesitation, doubt, vulnerability, regret.

In these randomly de-structured compositions, the result of a formal and chaotic filtering process, John Cage manages to transmit, through a sensorial experience, a sceptical attitude towards the history that is inseparably linked to the music of the era of the pioneers. The colonial ideology, the violence against the indigenous peoples, a nation built on the work of slaves: a critical and frank look at the past is implicitly present in the music and allows the fragments of original compositions to be heard, like the remains of a misguided vision. Instead of celebrating a glorious past, Cage proposes a transparency which allows glimpses of the other side of history.

Among the different sources which initiated this new direction, two reveal reflections which have fed into the thought processes of Thomas Hauert: The World of Yesterday by the writer Stefan Zweig, which looks despairingly at the past and at the changes under way in European society at the dawn of the twentieth century. This book would moreover be Zweig’s last, as the author took his own life after having posted his manuscript to his publisher. The digitalization of the company’s video archives was also the opportunity to address ‘the dances of the past’ and the traces which remain of them in the memory and/or body of the dancers. During the rehearsals, over the course of a conversation, a dancer compared this work to ‘ruins of dance’. This allegory clearly grasps the intentions of the choreography: a succession of fragments interspersed with stillness, gestures suspended in their momentum, uncompleted, aborted. These fragments and these reminiscences of past dances emerge in the bodies nevertheless, between appearance and disappearance, between the need to communicate and inner withdrawal.

On stage, the six silhouettes display a greyish palette, far from the multicoloured figures typical of Thomas Hauert’s shows. Passed through the filter of melancholy, If Only has lost the colour of an ideal, like the faded image of a distant memory. The casual clothes worn by the dancers give the impression that they bear a dark history; with its murky lustre and uncertain tones, the fabric seems to have been muted. A ‘post’ dance takes shape delicately among a filigree architecture (designed by Chevalier-Masson) that evolves as the performers manipulate it. Tied to two moveable speakers, several threads connect to modular sculptures with molecular shapes. Suspended on either side of the bodies, these light sprawling nets stretch out and retract like the limbs of a plant with a lanky and angular skeleton. In the middle of this subtle symbiotic mechanism, a new scale of attention turns our gaze to the meticulous writing of movement and the fragility of the solitary bodies. Revealed by the transparency of Cage’s music, each gesture, each impulse becomes a micro-event, punctuated by random embraces which occur like possible promises of hopes.

If the choreographer does not hide his pessimism regarding our future world, If Only nevertheless seems to wish to kindle the life instinct that emerges despite the mind’s resignation. A glimmer breaks loose and emerges from this dark lull. In Survival of the Fireflies (2009), the philosopher Georges Didi-Huberman wrote that it was up to us to avoid the disappearance of these precious ‘fireflies’, these glimmers in the dark which we cling to in order to keep going. ‘We must […], in the breach opened up between the past and the future, become fireflies and thereby form once more a community of desire, a community of emitted glimmers, of dances despite everything …’ A form of resilience emerges through this funereal dance: an obstinately luminous gesture therefore, despite everything.

Wilson Le Personnic, March 2020

Concept & direction Thomas Hauert
Created & performed by Thomas Hauert, Liz Kinoshita, Sarah Ludi, Federica Porello, Samantha Van Wissen, Mat Voorter
Musique Thirteen Harmonies (1985), John Cage and other musics (in progress)
Musical interpretation, voices Lea Petra (Keyboard), Wietse Beels (Violin)
Sound Bart Celis
Scenography Chevalier-Masson, Bert Van Dijck, ZOO
Light Bert Van Dijck
Costumes Chevalier-Masson
Costumes production Isabelle Airaud
Production ZOO/Thomas Hauert, DC&J Creation
Coproduction Théâtre les Tanneurs, Bruxelles (BE) / Charleroi Danse, Centre Chorégraphique de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles (BE), Festival de Genève – La Bâtie (CH), Centre Chorégraphique National d’Orléans – direction Maud Le Pladec (FR)
Support Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles – Service de la danse / Pro Helvetia – Fondation suisse pour les arts / Ein Kulturengagement des Lotterie-Fonds des Kantons Solothurn / Wallonie-Bruxelles International / and the tax-shelter of the belgian federal government

If Only, 9 March 2020

27 January 2021
Théâtre de Liège Liège (BE)
26 January 2021
Théâtre de Liège Liège (BE)
12 September 2020
11 September 2020
24 April 2020
Charleroi Danse Charleroi (BE)
13 March 2020
12 March 2020
Théâtre Les Tanneurs Brussels (BE)
11 March 2020
Théâtre Les Tanneurs Brussels (BE)
10 March 2020
Théâtre Les Tanneurs Brussels (BE)

If Only

If Only

2020

En 2018, ZOO fêtait les 20 ans de la compagnie avec How to proceed. Les artistes y partageaient avec générosité un aperçu de la fabrique de leur travail. Mais cachée derrière l’apparente célébration collective de cet événement, une part d’ombre semblait déjà avoir pris racine. Dans cette précédente création une angoisse latente faisait quelques apparitions furtives mais se diluait dans l’esprit d’apparence festif du projet. « Je me questionnais beaucoup sur ma vie personnelle et professionnelle, sur l’industrie de la danse, sur l’état du monde dans lequel je vivais. » déclare Thomas Hauert. Affecté par un climat délétère, entre crise écologique, économique, migratoire et politique, ces préoccupations ont continué à infuser les réflexions du chorégraphe, déplaçant ses recherches et sa pratique vers d’autres centres d’intérêts. En témoigne aujourd’hui sa nouvelle création If Only qui porte dans son essence ce sentiment désenchanté.

Deux ans après How to proceed, le chorégraphe revient avec une proposition audacieuse, qui donne une nouvelle direction au travail de la compagnie. Les aficionados seront sans doute désorientés par cette proposition inédite, qui fait résolument rupture avec la dynamique caractéristique de l’univers de ZOO. Thomas Hauert, Liz Kinoshita, Sarah Ludi, Federica Porello, Samantha Van Wissen et Mat Voorter, visages emblématiques de la compagnie et complices de précédents projets, révisent ainsi les règles de leur propre travail. La confiance et liberté sans cesse renouvelée au gré des projets est d’ailleurs l’un des fers de lance de la compagnie : le travail collectif et collaboratif est toujours au centre du processus de création. Réorganiser l’ADN de ZOO n’aurait pu se faire sans l’aide précieuse et connaisseuse de cette équipe.

Pris dans un flux continu d’agitations, le besoin de ralentir la cadence s’est donc fait sentir. Après avoir chorégraphié ces dernières années des pièces à l’énergie débordante et épuisante, un lâcher-prise s’imposait : cette nouvelle recherche s’attache ainsi à explorer d’autres formes de présences et de matières dépouillées et dépourvues d’un éventuel potentiel attractif qu’on peut attendre de la danse aujourd’hui. A rebours du consumérisme et de la vitesse omniprésente dans nos vies, les corps ralentissent, deviennent lâches, hésitants, libérés de leur injonction à l’efficacité… Se réapproprier le temps, trouver de nouvelles échelles de virtuosité et développer une slow danse sont autant de rudiments qui ont alimentés le chantier d’If Only.

Sur scène les interprètes cohabitent avec Thirteen Harmonies, œuvre de John Cage enregistrée pour cette nouvelle création par le violoniste Wietse Beels et la claviériste Lea Petra sur un Fender Rhodes. Thirteen Harmonies est une retranscription pour violon et clavier (réalisée par Roger Zahab en 1985) d’une plus grande œuvre de John Cage intitulée Apartment House 1776. Commande de plusieurs orchestres américains pour le bicentenaire de l’indépendance des États-Unis en 1976, Apartment House 1776, interprété par des musicien·ne·s et des chanteur·se·s représentant les membres des communautés cohabitant aux États-Unis il y a plus de 200 ans (Protestant·e·s puritain·e·s, Juif·ve·s sépharades, Amérindien·ne·s et Afro-américain·ne·s), s’appuie sur 44 œuvres musicales de compositeurs coloniaux. Loin de l’optimisme naïf et de la foi inébranlable (en dieu, en soi et en la conquête des terres américaines) que respirent les hymnes originaux aux accents liturgiques, les sonorités des Thirteen Harmonies deviennent à la fois reconnaissables et étranges, hantées par des silences mystérieux. Elles évoquent l’hésitation, le doute, la vulnérabilité, le regret.

Dans ces compositions aléatoirement déstructurées issues d’un procédé de filtrage formel et chaotique, John Cage arrive à transmettre, par une expérience sensorielle, une attitude sceptique envers l’histoire qui est inséparablement liée à la musique de l’époque des pionniers. L’esprit colonial, la violence contre les peuples indigènes, une nation bâtie sur le travail des esclaves : un regard critique et franc sur le passé est implicitement présent dans la musique et fait entendre les fragments des compositions originales comme des vestiges d’une vision égarée. Au lieu de célébrer un passé glorieux, Cage propose une transparence qui laisse entrevoir d’autres faces de l’histoire ordinairement passées sous silence.

Parmi les différentes pistes qui ont initié cette nouvelle trajectoire, deux sont révélatrices des réflexions qui innervent la pensée de Thomas Hauert : Le monde d’hier de l’écrivain Stefan Zweig, qui regarde avec désespoir le passé et les changements qui sont en train d’opérer dans la société européenne des premières décennies du XX siècle. Ce livre sera d’ailleurs son dernier, car l’auteur se suicida après avoir posté son manuscrit à son éditeur. Un travail de numérisation du fonds d’archives vidéo de la compagnie a été aussi l’occasion de se pencher sur les « danses du passé » et les traces qu’il en reste dans la mémoire et/ou le corps des danseur·se·s. Pendant les répétitions, au cours d’une conversation, une danseuse compare ce travail à des « ruines de danse ». Cette allégorie saisit avec clarté les intentions de la chorégraphie : une succession de fragments ponctuées de vides, de gestes suspendus dans leurs élans, inaboutis, avortés. Ces fragments et ces réminiscences des danses passées surgissent malgré tout dans les corps oscillants, entre apparition et disparition, entre la nécessité de communiquer et le repli intérieur.

Au plateau, les six silhouettes affichent une palette grisée, loin des figures bariolées caractéristiques des spectacles de Thomas Hauert. En passant à travers le filtre de la mélancolie, If Only a perdu la couleur d’un idéal, comme l’image fanée d’un souvenir lointain. Les vêtements de typologie quotidienne que portent les danseur·se·s donnent l’impression de traîner avec eux une histoire funeste, le tissu au lustre trouble et aux nuances incertaines semble s’être éteint. Une danse « de l’après » se dessine délicatement au centre d’une architecture arachnéenne (conçue par Chevalier-Masson) qui évolue au gré des manipulations des interprètes. Reliés à deux speakers mobiles, plusieurs fils rejoignent des sculptures modulables aux formes moléculaires. Suspendu de part et d’autre des corps, ces légers filets tentaculaires s’étirent et se rétractent comme les articulations d’un végétal au squelette longiligne et angulaire. Au milieu de ce subtil dispositif symbiotique, une nouvelle échelle d’attention érige notre regard sur l’écriture minutieuse du mouvement et la fragilité des corps solitaires. Révélés par la transparence de la musique de Cage, chaque geste et élan deviennent de micro événements, ponctués par des étreintes aléatoires qui surviennent comme de possibles promesses d’espoirs.

Si le chorégraphe ne cache pas son pessimisme sur notre monde à venir, If Only semble cependant vouloir attiser l’instinct de vie qui surgit malgré la résignation de l’esprit. Une lueur se détache et émerge de cette sombre accalmie. Dans Survivance des lucioles (2009), le philosophe Georges Didi-Huberman écrivait qu’il ne tenait qu’à nous de ne pas voir disparaître ces précieuses « lucioles », ces lueurs dans la nuit auxquelles on se raccroche pour avancer. « Nous devons (…), dans la brèche ouverte entre le passé et le futur, devenir des lucioles et reformer par là une communauté du désir, une communauté de lueurs émises, de danses malgré tout…». Une forme de résilience émerge à travers cette danse funèbre : un geste obstinément lumineux donc, malgré tout.

Wilson Le Personnic

Concept & direction Thomas Hauert
Créé & interprété par Thomas Hauert, Liz Kinoshita, Sarah Ludi, Federica Porello, Samantha Van Wissen, Mat Voorter
Musique Thirteen Harmonies (1985), John Cage et autres musiques enrégistrées (en cours)
Interprétation musicale, voix Lea Petra (Keyboard), Wietse Beels (Violon)
Son Bart Celis
Scénographie Chevalier-Masson, Bert Van Dijck, ZOO
Lumière Bert Van Dijck
Costumes Chevalier-Masson
Confection costumes Isabelle Airaud
Production ZOO/Thomas Hauert, DC&J Creation
Coproduction Théâtre les Tanneurs, Bruxelles (BE) / Charleroi danse, Centre Chorégraphique de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles (BE) / Festival de Genève – La Bâtie (CH) / Centre Chorégraphique National d’Orléans – direction Maud Le Pladec (FR)
Soutiens Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles – Service de la danse / Pro Helvetia – Fondation suisse pour les arts / Ein Kulturengagement des Lotterie-Fonds des Kantons Solothurn / Wallonie-Bruxelles International / Tax-shelter du gouvernement fédéral belge

27 January 2021
Théâtre de Liège Liège (BE)
26 January 2021
Théâtre de Liège Liège (BE)
12 September 2020
11 September 2020
24 April 2020
Charleroi Danse Charleroi (BE)
13 March 2020
12 March 2020
Théâtre Les Tanneurs Brussels (BE)
11 March 2020
Théâtre Les Tanneurs Brussels (BE)
10 March 2020
Théâtre Les Tanneurs Brussels (BE)

If Only